amazing

staff

We have a fantastic team at The King's Arms; whilst each member has a different skill set, we are all creative, knowledgeable, dedicated and incredibly supportive of our Young People. 

This is the KA team.

Caroline Aeschliman

Operations Manager (aka T.E.E.A.)

I love the buzz of working around young people and enjoy every moment at King's Arms. I live just outside of Petersfield in a barn with my husband, one of my daughters, two KA youth workers and one black Labrador, sometimes ducklings, oh yes and also with my mum and dad. I have worked in a sixth form college, in training and development in two different high street banks, and for a leadership development company. The team at KA are great, they are committed, energetic, passionate and giving and I love being a part of it. I also love to hear young people come and tell me their ideas and dreams or just share what's going on in their lives, so please come and talk to me.


Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. I had a very good green pepper crop this year (but planted red ones!)

  2. My highest score on blockpuzzle is 2325.

  3. I went to America in 2017 and didn't get eaten by a bear (please ask why!)

Mandy May-Martin

Programme Manager (aka R.O.C.K.)

“Young at heart, older in other places.” This quote about sums me up. I love my sharpies and have one for every occasion, if you asked my colleagues they would probably tell you I’m messy, if you asked my partner and my kids they would also tell you I’m messy, but there is method in my mess, I just have a creative soul.  I’ve worked with young people since 1995 and not had enough yet, I will help you if I can or else I will find someone who can.


Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. I have a smart bike, some say electric!

  2. I have a Camper Van called Elvis

  3. I never run with scissors (Those last two words were unnecessary)

Annemarie Woods

Programme Manager (aka S.O.F.A.)

I joined The King's Arms back in 2012 as a volunteer as I thought teenagers were quirky and entertaining. I was not wrong about that but I did discover that young people are just people but young.

I live locally and have four children of my own. They’re all a bit older now so I am enjoying not having to do the school run – 17 years of it was enough.

Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. I like giving out carrots

  2. I have walked 10% of the UK coast so far.

  3. I will hardly ever say no to a cup of tea.

Jen Hammersley

Programme Manager (aka M.K.I.H.)

I live with my husband and 2 kids in Headley Down, just a few minutes walk away from the common, which is usually where you can find me with our 2 daft dogs.  I love LEGO - Christmas isn't the same without a LEGO set in our house! I was trained in Marketing and worked the corporate world for a number of years before switching roles.  Now I just enjoy helping people.  I love what I do, collaborating with other agencies, but most of all I love the fact that as a team we can make a difference to the lives of others.

Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. I moved to Canada  when I was 16 years old and I still watch Ice Hockey matches every year. - "Go Flames Go!"

  2. I met a wild baby Rhino hidden in the middle of the Masai Mara, Kenya. He even had his own personal bodyguard!

  3. I create the best treasure hunts at Christmas for my kids to find their presents. they are now 16 and 18 and still demand one!

Lisa Hillan

Programme Manager (aka W.O.R.D.)

I still haven’t figured out what I want to be when I grow up.  So far, I’ve been a high school English teacher, Uni textbook editor, attorney, tutor, clinical course director and fundraiser (those are the highlights).  Following our family move from California to Hampshire in 2007, I’ve been a school governor, charity trustee, and full-time volunteer in the Alton area, including support for Young Carers through The King’s Arms for the last few years.  I joined the staff team in August 2018, with the goal of helping to bring a King’s Arms to Alton. I’m an off-the-charts extrovert (even for an American), known for getting things done.  I believe passionately in the promise and potential of every young person.


Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. I was married on a shuffleboard court along Seven Mile Beach in Grand Cayman.  

  2. My first job (other than babysitting) involved detasseling corn one summer in Illinois; this helped me appreciate the value of education.

  3. I can’t whistle.  Wish I could.

Will Schofield

Office Manager (aka P.L.A.N.)

I live in Petersfield and my three children all went to local schools. I have just finished a 30 year career in the police service during which I have been involved in a number of projects working closely with young people. After leaving the police wanted to make use of my energy and skills to do something that really matters. I cannot think of a better way than helping and supporting young people to fulfil their potential. I love working in a small team where everybody pitches in and am hoping to remove some of the administrative burden from the other service managers so they can do even more with the charity and the young people who use it. I love walking so you may bump in to me on a nearby footpath some time.

Here are 3 things you have always wanted to know about me:

  1. Although not very good at it, I enjoy growing vegetables.

  2. I love sailing (and racing) my small sailing dinghy, but seem to capsize a lot.

  3. I volunteer for Citizens Advice in Havant which is really hard work, but very interesting and rewarding.

Larisa Mendresse-Elder

Youth Worker (aka L.A.F.F.)

I have been involved with The King's Arms as a Mentor volunteer for a year before I began working here as a Youth Worker. I’m a born and bred Brummy. I grew up in the heart of the inner-city in a massive family so moving to Petersfield was a huge but welcomed change, I love that when I walk into town I always bump into someone I know, that NEVER use to happen in Birmingham. My favourite hobbies involve music (particularly Hip hop and R & B), festivals, kebabs, cheese, dancing and watching Musicals.

 

Here are 3 things you have always wanted to know about me:

  1. I spent a long Summer in Havanna, Cuba where I learnt to Salsa, make Mojitos and unintentionally swim with sharks.

  2. I am in the Guinness book of records for being part of the longest ‘Conga’.

  3. One of the best times in my life was when I spent time with the Masai Mara in Kenya on a safari. I got up close to a pride of Lions, elephants and Rhinos in the wild it was AWESOME!!!

Ben Stickler

Youth Worker (aka F.D.G.T.)

I started working for The King's Arms in the task Iforce for the hub programmes. I moved to Petersfield to do my DNA placement and now have joined the staff team. I am energetic and always full of games. I love to play Guitar Hero on the Xbox and play pool at KA. I spend most of my money on the tuck shop. So far my highlights of Youth work here have included cutting up sofas, leading games of bibbidy bobbidy boo and just being there to help young people!

Here are 3 things you always wanted to know about me:

  1. My favourite foods are pizza and Yorkshire puddings. Not together obviously…well actually I haven’t tried it so one day maybe…

  2. I play the drums.

  3. I love playing board games about trains and building Lego.

Charlie Cranston

Youth Worker (aka H.A.R.T.)

All my adult life I've been involved in youth work in some way. Why? Well, because I think that young people are awesome, I think that the teenage years are often tough and, to be honest, I've probably not grown up! I love having fun, being silly, having a good heart to heart chat and most of all love to help young people see hope in life.

I have lived in Alton since 2006 and I'm so excited to be part of The King's Arms, see it grow and offer young people something to do, a place to belong, get support and have fun in Alton.

Here are 3 things you have always wanted to know about me:

  1. I am not a morning person and need coffee before anyone speaks to me!

  2. I love a good movie/ Netflix marathon particularly most detective, action or even romcoms!

  3. I absolutely love views especially of the sea, rivers, mountains, waterfalls and sunsets.

Sarah Beechcroft-Kay

Youth Worker (aka R.E.S.O.)

I have been a youth worker since 2017 when I came back to work after having my little boy. I started off doing outreach work so basically going out and about talking to groups of teenagers in parks, skate parks or wherever else they hang out. The best thing, apart from learning about new technology and the latest crazes, is listening to what’s going on in the lives of young people and hopefully being a friendly and supportive voice of reason. I am enjoying working with the Kings Arms and getting to know all the young people who they work with.

Here are 3 things you have always wanted to know about me:

  1. I used to be Cabin Crew for British Airways and spent lots of time in the Caribbean!

  2. I have run 5 Marathons

  3. I grew up in East London

Sarah_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited

Martha Lloyd

Junior Youth Worker (aka J.O.Y.E.)

I'm new here at The Kings Arm's. I have joined the team as part of my placement during my DNA leadership course. I love working with young people, spending time with them, getting to know them better, playing crazy games with them and just being there whenever they need a friendly face. I love Netflix, watching films, Instagram, spending quality time with my friends , eating pizza, drawing, painting and anything that looks like a lot of fun.

Here are 3 things you have always wanted to know about me:

  1. I'm from Walsall in the West Midlands (no I'm not from Poland).

  2. Food is the way to my heart.

  3. I have a pet tortoise.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2020 The Kings Arms Registered Charity No. 1087176, Company No. 04107491